Hello? Is This Thing On?

My name is Wyatt Miller, and I’ll be updating this little blog with details from my internship. I’m currently a senior at Loyola University Chicago. I’m a history major, which means that I learn about old white guys, and I’m an English minor, which means that I learn about old white guys that happened to write poetry.

This semester I’ll be interning with Dr. Timothy Gilfoyle, working to correct transcripts, index terms, and write brief summaries of numerous interviews Dr. Gilfoyle has conducted with recipients of the Chicago History Museum’s “Making History Award.” The award is given to individuals who have made “extraordinary contributions to Chicago.”

In this blog I’ll be writing about the process of transcribing and academic writing, as well as relating interesting anecdotes, biographies, and information that I’ll find within the interviews themselves. Hopefully this will make for an interesting blog, although if you have read this far it’s likely that you are either an instructor grading my History Internship (Hello, Prof. Roberts!) or my mother (Hi, mom!).

More to come next week.

 

Leave a comment